HKEX welcomes Government appointments to its Board

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEX) welcomed the Government’s appointment of Stephen Yiu Kin-wah and the reappointment of Anita Fung Yuen-mei, Rafael Gil-Tienda and Margaret Leung Ko May-yee to its Board of Directors.

The terms of Mr Yiu, Ms Fung, Mr Gil-Tienda and Mrs Leung will begin at the conclusion of HKEX’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 26 April 2017 and will end at the conclusion of the AGM in 2019.

John Harrison will retire from the Board after the conclusion of the AGM on 26 April 2017.

We welcome the appointment of Mr Yiu and the reappointment of Ms Fung, Mr Gil-Tienda and Mrs Leung. They bring a wide range of knowledge in corporate and financial services which will benefit the future development of the Group,” said HKEX Chairman C K Chow.

On behalf of HKEX, I would also like to thank Mr Harrison for his dedicated support and invaluable contributions to HKEX over the past six years, in particular in his role as the chairman of HKEX’s Audit Committee and his involvement in The London Metal Exchange (LME) and LME Clear Limited’s board and committees,” said Mr Chow.

HKEX’s Board consists of 13 Directors, six elected by shareholders, six appointed by the Government, and the Chief Executive of HKEX, who is an ex-officio member. The Government-appointed Directors are appointed by the Financial Secretary pursuant to Section 77 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Read Also: