IMF for first time to show Forex reserve breakdown together with a list of participating countries

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) will release on September 30, 2015 at 9:00 a.m. (Eastern Standard Time) the quarterly data on the currency composition of official foreign exchange reserves (COFER).

For the first time as reported today, the data will be released with a list of economies that have agreed to have their names released as COFER participants. The release of these names is consistent with IMF’s efforts to promote data transparency, including through the Special Data Dissemination Standard (SDDS) Plus, which requires adherents to make public their participation in the COFER.

COFER is a database managed by the IMF’s Statistics Department, containing end-of-period quarterly data of reporting countries/jurisdictions. Seven currencies are distinguished in COFER data: the U.S. dollar, euro, pound sterling, Japanese yen, Swiss franc, AUD, and CAD. All other currencies are included indistinguishably in the category of “other currencies.”

Before this step from the IMF COFER data for individual countries was kept strictly confidential given the sensitive nature of the data.  Access to individual country data was limited to only four IMF staff on a need-to-know basis.

The current allocation of reserves can be seen below: (per official IMF data)


The data can be accessed by clicking here.

Read Also: