FCA warns on another China focused FX clone site, FXCFSE

Britain’s Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) is continuing to exercise a watchful position with regard to clone websites which are operated by bogus entities which illegally profess to be associated with bona fide British companies with a view to duping clients into investing funds.

The latest example of this practice is a company which is illegally purporting to be FCA regulated Cargill Financial Services Europe Ltd, a British company based in the Surrey town of Cobham, which operates under the website www.cargill.co.uk and www.cargill.com with the FCA license number 485326.

The FCA has confirmed that the abovementioned is a bona fide company which is currently licensed by the FCA and operates from Knowle Hill Park, Fairmile Lane, Cobham, Surrey, KT11 2PD, United Kingdom.

In making a public announcement today, the FCA makes it clear that there is a clone of this company in existance, and that potential investors should exercise caution to ensure that they are dealing with the correct company.

The clone firm offers its services to an audience in China, and operates via the website www.fxcfse.com without any FCA license, and illegally suggests that it is connected to the legitimate Cargill Financial Services Europe Ltd.

Several British companies have been the subject of clone sites recently, largely due to the solid reputation of the British financial services sector among Far Eastern retail clients.

Indeed, with such practices becoming commonplace, caution is required.

For the full announcement from the FCA, click here.

Read Also: