ESMA names new chairs of Standing Committees

The Board of Supervisors of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) on Friday announced the appointments of new chairs to its Standing Committees, effective October 1, 2015.

David Lawton, Director of Markets, Policy and International of the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), United Kingdom, will become chair of the Investor Protection and Intermediaries Standing Committee.

Misu Negritoiu, President of the Financial Supervisory Authority (ASF), Romania, will chair the Committee on Economic Market Analysis.

Edwin Schooling Latter, Head of Market Policy of the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), United Kingdom, will chair the Commodity Derivatives Task Force.

All of these appointments are for a period of two years, ESMA explained in its announcement.

The new appointments to ESMA’s Standing Committees are announced just days after the regulator extended for further 5 years the terms of office for both the Chair, Steven Maijoor, and Executive Director, Verena Ross.

To view the official announcement from ESMA on the latest appointments, click here.

Read Also: