Montréal Exchange launches trading on London time


FCA publishes proposals to be used in case of a hard Brexit

Montréal Exchange (MX), Canada’s derivatives exchange, has announced that it has opened for trading at 2:00 a.m. EDT yesterday morning, or 7:00 a.m. London time.

The move to extend its trading hours is in response to an increase in activity and demand from MX’s global clients, particularly during the early trading session. MX’s regular trading session has increased in duration by four hours, with trading now available between 2:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. ET (7:00 a.m. to 9:30 p.m. London time), and a pre-open or order entry session beginning at 1:30 a.m. ET (6:30 a.m. London time).

Designed as a trading and risk management solution for investors around the world, extended trading hours enables domestic and international clients to manage their exposure to Canadian markets and execute cross-market strategies during non-regular Canadian business hours. Investors now have expanded access to MX’s suite of interest rate derivatives products, including the internationally-recognized Canadian benchmarks Three-Month Canadian Bankers’ Acceptance Futures (BAX) and Ten-Year Government of Canada Bond Futures (CGB). Extended trading hours will also help MX expand globally, diversify its existing client base, and develop new liquidity centers.

This is an exciting day for Montréal Exchange as we, together with our valued clients and stakeholders, take an important step forward in the evolution of Canada’s world-class markets,” said Luc Fortin, President and Chief Executive Officer of MX and Global Head of Trading, TMX Group.

Over time, we expect extended hours to deliver multiple long-term benefits to our marketplace, including increased participation, improved transparency, and enhanced liquidity while strengthening MX’s competitive global position. We extend our sincere thanks to our clients for their partnership in this initiative and we look forward to the collaborative work ahead in pursuit of future successes.

Related News

arrow

Montréal Exchange launches trading on London time

4

Send this to a friend